

Taking pride in our communities and town

MINUTES OF COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

At the Annual Meeting of the Council for the Borough of Slough held at the Small Hall, The Centre, Farnham Road, Slough, SL1 4UT on Tuesday, 17th May, 2016 at 7.00 pm

Present:- The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Rasib), in the chair; Councillors Ajaib, Anderson, Bains, Bal, Bedi, Brooker, Carter, Chahal, Chaudhry, Cheema, Chohan, Coad, Dar, Davis, Amarpreet Dhaliwal, Arvind Dhaliwal, M Holledge, N Holledge, Hussain, Mann, Matloob, Morris, Munawar, Nazir, Pantelic, Parmar, Plenty, Qaseem, Rana, Sadiq, A Sandhu, R Sandhu, Sarfraz, Shah, Sharif, Smith, Sohal, Strutton, Swindlehurst, Usmani and Wright

Apologies for Absence:- None

1. To Elect the Mayor for the 2016/17 Municipal Year

The Mayor called for nominations for the office of Mayor of the Borough of Slough for the ensuing municipal year. Councillor Munawar proposed and Councillor Matloob seconded the nomination of Councillor Arvind Dhaliwal.

There being no further nominations the Chief Executive declared Councillor Arvind Dhaliwal elected Mayor of the Borough of Slough for the 2016/17 municipal year. Councillor Arvind Dhaliwal, having made and signed the requisite declaration of acceptance of office, was thereupon installed in the Chair.

(The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Arvind Dhaliwal, in the Chair)

Resolved - That Councillor Arvind Dhaliwal be elected as Mayor of the Borough of Slough for the Municipal Year 2016/2017.

2. To Elect the Deputy Mayor for the 2016/17 Municipal Year

The Mayor called for nominations to the office of Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Slough for the 2016/17 municipal year. Councillor Chaudhry proposed and Councillor Bedi seconded the nomination of Councillor Shah. Councillor Chahal proposed and Councillor Wright seconded the nomination of Councillor Smith.

The Mayor put the two nominations to the vote and, a prior request having been made for the record of the voting:

There voted for Councillor Shah:

Councillors Ajaib, Anderson, Bal, Bedi, Brooker, Carter, Chaudhry, Cheema, Chohan, Coad, Dar, Davis, Arvind Dhaliwal, M Holledge, N Holledge, Hussain, Mann, Matloob, Munawar, Nazir, Pantelic, Parmar, Plenty, Qaseem, Rana, Rasib, Sadiq, A.Sandhu, Sarfraz, Shah, Sharif, Sohal, Swindlehurst and Usmani. 34 There voted for Councillor Smith:

The Mayor declared Councillor Shah elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Slough for the 2016/17 municipal year. Councillor Shah made and signed the requisite declaration of acceptance of Office of Deputy Mayor.

Resolved - That Councillor Shah be elected as Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Slough for the Municipal Year 2016/2017.

3. Declarations of Interest

Councillor Bal declared that a member of his family was employed by Slough Borough Council.

4. To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the Council held on 19th April 2016

Resolved - That the minutes of the proceedings of the Council meeting held on 19th April 2016 be approved as a correct record.

5. To receive the Mayor's Communications.

Following the local Borough election, the Mayor welcomed Councillors Bedi, Qaseem, Sadiq, Sandhu and Sarfraz to the Council, wishing them well as they commenced their service to the community. Members who were successfully reelected were also congratulated.

The Mayor confirmed that The Reverend Linda Hillier had agreed to serve as the Mayor's Chaplain and that he was extremely grateful for Linda's support of the Mayor's office and looked forward to working with her.

Council was advised that the Mayor's Reception would take place on Thursday 2nd June at The Centre and invitations would be sent out in the near future.

6. Meeting Adjournment

It was moved by Councillor Munawar, Seconded by Councillor Hussain,

"That under Council Procedure Rule 15 (Sub-Section L) the meeting be adjourned."

The recommendation was put to the vote and carried unanimously.

Resolved – That the meeting be adjourned.

The Chief Executive informed the meeting that the Mayor had received a requisition for an extraordinary meeting and that a meeting had been scheduled

for Monday 6 June 2016. The adjourned Annual Council meeting would take place immediately after the Extraordinary Council meeting on 6th June 2016.

Chair

(Note: The Meeting opened at 7.00 pm and closed at 7.46 pm)